Relationships are Complicated

I realized not long ago that I’ll never love him the same way he loves me, and that’s okay.

Here’s the context.

My boyfriend adores me, loves me, misses me so much it hurts, he tells me. I feel bad, because I don’t want him to hurt. He says he can’t live without me, can’t stand not being with me, wishes we’ll be together forever.

I, however, don’t miss him as much as I think I should. Yes, I love him, but I don’t obsess over him. I don’t think I’ll ever really understand how he can love and trust with all his heart.

But, I guess, that’s alright. As long as we love each other, we care about eachother, it doesn’t matter we love differently, right?

I’m worried for him. What if I have to move away, or die, or for some reason leave him? How would he cope? I’m worried he wouldn’t cope.

I guess I feel kind of forced into staying with him, even though I want to. Not that I would ever tell him that.

Leave a Reply

